Members: 9719
Newest: Mt Pleasant Wrestling
Support MassWrestling. Click a link!

Forums :: Forums :: General Discussion

The Next Chapter of MassWrestling 
Sam Shames
Sat Oct 22 2016, 10:55AM

Dear Masswrestling Community,

For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Sam Shames, and I wrestled for Newton North High School from 2006-10 and at MIT from 2010-14. Today I am an assistant coach at MIT and volunteer across the wrestling community. I am writing to announce that as of today I am taking ownership over from Mike Atlas.

Mike took over the site in 2004 from its creator, Ted Chan, and has done a great service to wrestlers across the state these past twelve years. During his time running the site, Mike created many of the features we’ve come to love and use regularly, and has spent many hours over the years filming the Lowell Holiday, All-State, and New England Tournaments so those who could not attend could watch. I personally watched Mike’s film of the 2007 New England finals more times than I can count, and was completely inspired by the 103lbs match. These past few years Mike has not been able to devote as much time to the site, and this summer he asked me to take it over from him. As we get ready for to enter the next chapter of MassWrestling, please join me in thanking Mike for his work and all he has done to support and grow wrestling.