Forums
MassWrestling.com :: Forums :: General Discussion

How do you get better?  Go to page  1 [2]
HeAdLiKeAhOlE
Wed Jan 21 2009, 09:04PM
Registered Member #8097
Siamese Mike wrote ...

Offseason wrestling Period.

i'd say joining a quality club is key. Go to that off season club as much as you can, and compete out of state as much as you can. The club you go to should make all wrestlers drill moves. Having open mats for 2hours 3 times a week doesn't constitute a good club... A few i can think of would be Wadsworth, Doughboy, Kryptonite .

some other good camps in the springfield area are the new england all stars and the springfield college wrestling camp
Kivior
Wed Jan 21 2009, 09:24PM
Registered Member #8163
but Sometimes you can't do the club thing wether it be to far away, affordability, just can't get there(most high schoolers don't have a licenes), but if you can, definetly do it. I know I wish i knew more about clubs and stuff when i was a freshman and older.

when I was a junior i definetly noticed a difference when i changed partners from the 71 to the 215 who was a lot more aggressive and even though i knew what he did and vice versa we practiced with boiling blood when we went live and I would do stuff that he couldn't counter and he would get angry till he got it and then i had to change my game up and we did that till we both went to states.

1 knowledge (Always learning even after a match think of new things you could do)

2 controling emotions (If your good and you lose don't go flipping out or don't get down on yourself)

3 conditioning (Out lasting is what gives a champ that edge)

Just a side question, is there any website or something that has a list of upcoming tournies for older guys (out of high school) in this area (MA, NH, CT, RI) other than clubs.
wiseburn
Thu Mar 19 2009, 11:18AM
Registered Member #9035